Getting Back to Normal

I have Röbert taking all of our Christmas stuff down right now.  It is time to get our lives back to normal.

It was an unseasonably warm day so Röbert encouraged me to take a drive over to the kayak center and take my first lesson.  It is such a thoughtful gift and I really think I will be an excellent kayaker once I apply myself, so off I went!

Well, when I got there I just didn’t feel like doing it.  Yech!  The kayaks were all scratched up and used looking and I was wearing such a pretty cashmere sweater that I didn’t want to ruin.

Can you even imagine?  Used kayaks!  Not for me.

Can you even imagine? Used kayaks! Not for me.

So I drove home and decided to kill some time shopping.  I went to the jewelry store to see if they had an after Christmas sale or something, but no luck.  Oh well.  I got myself a delicious lunch and relaxed, and that is what is important, a little me time, not necessarily the kayaking, right?  I guess maybe if Röbert bought me a nice new kayak or something.  I will have to see.

I hope those poor children in a foreign country are enjoying my other Christmas gift about now.

7 thoughts on “Getting Back to Normal

  1. grammarian

    omg the same thing happened to me, my husband bought me a yoga class gift certificate — instead of a diamond, i know — and i went and it was just so smelly and there were so many people there wearing obviously used workout clothes, not stylish at all, so i had lunch and a lil wine instead.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Cindy McCain

      UGH. that sounds horrible, I think you did the right thing, and hopefully your husband will not make that mistake again!! I mean you have to TELL people you do yoga, but a diamond is just right there visible to all & requires no explanation. GET IT RIGHT, MEN!!

      Like

      Reply
  2. PSL Mama

    Just want to take this time in the new year to tell you how much I appreciate your blog. Your family seems so sweet and perfect. We should all have a marriage like yours. You seem so down to earth and you know what really matters in life. Please keep doing exactly what you’re doing. You inspire me to be a better mommy and wife. Oh and I totally would have gone out to lunch too. I think people actually sweat while kayaking. YUCK!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Cindy McCain

    I think some people that kayak are pretty hot. Did you see any hot instructors? I think you’re missing an opportunity here. NOT that you would EVER cheat on beautiful Robert, but, a little eye candy never hurt anyone.

    Like

    Reply
  4. mythreeangles Post author

    Hmmm. Maybe I should rethink it. But the class i skipped was a kayaking for gals class and the instructor was a woman, but not pretty at all. I could tell I wouldn’t like her.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment